Friday, February 20, 2009

Tewaaraton Watch List

When the Tewaaraton Watch List comes out at the beginning of the season I always look down the list to see who from Divisions 2 and 3 is mentioned purely out of interest. I know they will never win the award but it is always interesting to see who is regarded as one of the best in the country. Doug McIver of LeMoyne is listed as the sole D2 representative and that makes sense considering the Dolphins recent success. One the D3 side of things I was not at all surprised to see Kylor Berkman listed considering he plays for Salisbury, they won the NC last year and he was the D3 Player of the Year.

Joining Berkman were Eric Hagarty and Nick Cosco who BOTH play for Endicott. Now I know that Endicott is a really good team that has improved year after year but I find it hard to believe that they have 2 of the 3 best players in the entire Division yet they have never made a final 4 or even beaten a TRULY top tier team. This last point could be argued but the fact is they haven't won anything truly meaningful and neither of these guys even has an outside shot of winning the Tewaaraton unless Endicott goes undefeated and wins the NC game by 10. I don't think that is going to happen.

I'm not REALLY complaining about these selections because both Hagarty and Cosco are outstanding players on an excellent team but I do think they should spread the wealth a little more or just don't include D3 players on the watch list, especially kids who would never win the award in a million years. It seems silly and arbitrary and does nothing to lend any sort of credibility to the award.

No comments:

Post a Comment